Bangladesh vs Pakistan, 1st Test: Preview, Fantasy Tips, Likely XIs

Authored by
Thu, 25/11/2021
Babar Azam
Image Credit

After being whitewashed 3-0 in the T20Is, Bangladesh will hope to come up with a improved performance when they take on Pakistan on 26 November, in the first Test of the two-match series, in Chattogram. The two sides last met in a Test series in Bangladesh back in 2015, which Pakistan won by 1-0.

Bangladesh will miss the injured Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan and the recently retired Mahmudullah in this match. In their absence, the onus will be on Mominul Haque and Mushfiqur Rahim, among batters. Liton Das is likely to bat at No. 7, while Yasir Ali, Mahmudul Hasan Joy and Rajaur Rahman Raja may be handed maiden international caps.

Pakistan, meanwhile, will welcome Imam-ul-Haq’s return in the Test set-up, as Abid Ali's opening partner. They will be followed by Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam and Mohammad Rizwan to form a strong batting unit. Sajid Khan is expected to pair up with Nauman Ali among spinners, while Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the pace the attack, with Hasan Ali and Faheem Ashraf.

Pakistan Test squad's training and practice session in Chittagong#BANvPAK | #HarHaalMainCricket

— Pakistan Cricket (@TheRealPCB) November 24, 2021

Betway Fantasy Tips

  • Place your bet on Pakistan again. Make Shaheen and Ashraf captain and vice-captain respectively.
  • Among wicket-keepers, include Rahim and Rizwan and overlook Liton.
  • Do not ignore Mehidy Hasan Miraz. He can be the differentiating factor if Bangladesh manage to turn their fortunes in Tests.

Likely XIs

Bangladesh: Mominul Haque (c), Liton Das (wk), Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed, Rejaur Rahman Raja.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Imam-ul-Haq, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sajid Khan.

Fantasy XI

Imam-ul-Haq, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Faheem Ashraf (vc), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Yasir Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Nauman Ali.