Connect with us

Cricket Australia

BBL 2020/21: Updated squads for the season

Adelaide Strikers

Squad: Danny Briggs (Eng), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Harry Conway, Travis Head, Spencer Johnson, Rashid Khan (Afg), Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Matt Renshaw, Phil Salt (Eng), Liam Scott, Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Daniel Worrall, Jon Wells

Who’s in and who’s out?

Adelaide Strikers have focused on local talent and middle-order spin hitter Matt Renshaw and pacer Daniel Worrall come into the side. England spinner Danny Briggs also makes an entry to the setup. They have released hit-the-deck pacer Billy Stanlake from the setup.

Brisbane Heat

Squad: Tom Banton (Eng), Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Tom Cooper, Lewis Gregory (Eng), Sam Heazlett, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Ben Laughlin, Dan Lawrence (Eng), Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Jimmy Peirson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afg), Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Jack Wildermuth, Matthew Willans

Who’s in and who’s out?

The Heat have Morne Morkel as a local player benefitting from his Australia permanent residency. Batsman Tom Cooper and England all-rounders, Lewis Gregory and Dan Lawrence are other major additions. They have let go of Ben Cutting, Matt Renshaw and Josh Lalor and haven’t been able to retain AB de Villiers.

Hobart Hurricanes

Squad: Scott Boland, Tim David, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, James Faulkner, Peter Handscomb, Colin Ingram (SA), Will Jacks (Eng), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nep), Dawid Malan (Eng), Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, David Moody, Mitch Owen, Wil Parker, Keemo Paul (WI), D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Nick Winter, Mac Wright.

Who’s in and who’s out?

Hobart Hurricanes have added Dawid Malan, the no.1 T20I batter in the world while also adding Tim David and Peter Handscomb to the setup. Colin Ingram is another overseas recruit in the batting department to add firepower.

Melbourne Renegades

Squad: Noor Ahmad (Afg), Cameron Boyce, Zak Evans, Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Josh Lalor, Shaun Marsh, Mohammad Nabi (Afg), James Pattinson, Mitch Perry, Jack Prestwidge, Kane Richardson, Rilee Rossouw (SA), Will Sutherland, Imran Tahir (SA), Beau Webster

Who’s in and who’s out?

Melbourne Renegades added Noor Ahmad to the setup to bolster their spin resources. James Pattinson adds bowling firepower while Rilee Rossouw is a big hitter in the middle. Imran Tahir can be a wicket-taker in the middle overs for the Renegades. Dan Christian and Tom Cooper will leave the setup and the new recruits will be banked upon to fill the batting group. 

Melbourne Stars

Squad: Jonny Bairstow (Eng), Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Clint Hinchliffe, Zahir Khan (Afg), Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jono Merlo, Lance Morris, Tom O’Connell, Nicholas Pooran (WI), Will Pucovski, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa.

Who’s in and who’s out?

Some big overseas signings mark Melbourne Stars’ signings before the season. Nicholas Pooran and Jonny Bairstow come in and will be the big guns in the batting order. Will Pucovski is one for the future after his Shield returns while Billy Stanlake will add bowling experience. They have lost Haris Rauf and Sandeep Lamichhane in the overseas bowling department.

Perth Scorchers

Squad: Ashton Agar, Fawad Ahmed, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Joe Clarke (Eng), Cameron Gannon, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Liam Livingstone (Eng), Mitchell Marsh, Colin Munro (NZ), Joel Paris, Kurtis Patterson, Jhye Richardson, Jason Roy (Eng), Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman.

Who’s in and who’s out?

Joe Clarke, Colin Munro and Jason Roy form a new-look top-order for the Perth Scorchers this season. They will add depth to the batting that also has Cameron Bancroft, Mitchell Marsh and Liam Livingstone. 

Sydney Sixers

Squad: Sean Abbott, Carlos Brathwaite (WI), Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Tom Curran (Eng), Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Ben Manenti, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Mitchell Starc, James Vince (Eng)

Who’s in and who’s out?

Sixers are boosted by the big return of Mitchell Starc to the Big Bash League. The left-arm seamer is one of the best pacers in this format of the game and has stayed away from the Sixers setup due to workload for years. Dan Christian and Carlos Brathwaite lend further experience to the setup.

Sydney Thunder

Squad: Sam Billings (Eng), Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Callum Ferguson, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales (Eng), Baxter Holt, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Adam Milne (NZ), Arjun Nair, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain.

Who’s in and who’s out?

Sam Billings and Ben Cutting are the major additions in the batting order for the Thunder. Billings is a wicket-keeper and middle overs anchor who can step in at any phase in the line-up. Cutting is a big hitter down the order and can be a pace hitter. Adam Milne is a pacer who has pace and bounce and can be a genuine wicket-taker. 


Rohit Sankar is a freelance cricket journalist stuck in a love-hate live-in relationship with the game. To rile him up, mention the 1999 World Cup semi-final. Rohit has been writing about cricket for well over 10 years now, and has written for a variety of news and sports outlets over this time.


Must See

More in Cricket Australia