Connect with us

Indian Cricket World

Sri Lanka announce squad for series against India

Sri Lanka named veteran middle-order batsman Angelo Mathews in the T20I squad for the series against India starting January 5. Mathews last played a T20I for Sri Lanka against South Africa two years back and made a duck.

The Sri Lankan registered himself at Rs 2 crore in the IPL auction and went unsold. Mathews isn’t the only one returning with Test all-rounder, Dhananjaya de Silva, also being a part of the team. Pacer Nuwan Pradeep, who played in Australia and then missed the Pakistan series, will sit out again owing to an injury. Kasun Ranjitha replaces him in the team.

The tour to India has three T20Is in all – first at Guwahati, then at Indore on 7th and Pune on 10th. 

Squad: Lasith Malinga (capt.), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kusal Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha

Rohit Sankar is a freelance cricket journalist stuck in a love-hate live-in relationship with the game. To rile him up, mention the 1999 World Cup semi-final. Rohit has been writing about cricket for well over 10 years now, and has written for a variety of news and sports outlets over this time.

Welcome to Indian Cricket World!

Indian cricket fan community. Like our page for the latest updates, Messenger quizzes and competitions.

Find us on Facebook!

Latest IPL News

More in Indian Cricket World