Connect with us

Latest News

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, 2nd Test: Jayawickrama, Mendis star on Day 5 as hosts win by 209 runs

Jayawickrama became the first Sri Lanka player, 16th overall, to take 10 wickets on Test debut.

SL need 5 wkts, Bangladesh 260 runs to win 2nd Test.(Photo: Sri Lanka Cricket)

Praveen Jayawickrama picked up 11 for 178 on his Test debut to help Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by 209 runs in the second and final Test of the series, at the Pallekele Cricket Stadium. With the win, Dimuth Karunaratne-led side has sealed the series 1-0.

Bangladesh started Day 5 on 177/5, with Liton Das and Mehidy Hasan Miraz at the crease. They needed 260 runs to win the match and the series, with only five wickets in hand.

Jayawickrama (5-86), paring with Ramesh Mendis (4-103), did not take long to wrap up the contest. Bangladesh only managed to add 50 in the morning before getting bundling out for 227.

Jayawickrama became the first Sri Lankan, 16th overall, and first cricketer since Jason Krejza in 2008/09 to take 10 wickets on Test debut. Before him, the best Test debut for Sri Lanka were Akila Dananjaya’s 8-44.

Deservingly, Jayawickrama was adjudged Player of the Match after having a five-wicket haul in each innings. Karunaratne, who scored 428 runs in three innings, was rewarded with the Player of the Series trophy.

Earlier, Sri Lanka piled 493/7 on board after Karunaratne won the toss and opted to bat first. The Sri Lanka skipper (118), alongside Lahiru Thirimanne (140), added a 209-run opening stand to give them an early advantage.

Oshada Fernando (81) and Niroshan Dickwella (77) had played their part but couldn’t convert their innings to a three-figure mark. Apart from Taskin Ahmed (4-127), all Bangladeshi bowlers seemed off-coloured.

In reply, Bangladesh were all out for 251. Tamim Iqbal (92) was the lone warrior for the visitors; Jayawickrama had a figure of 6-92 in the first innings.

After having a 242-run lead, Karunaratne (66) again led from the front to help Sri Lanka post 194/9 before declaring. Bangladesh needed 437 to win the contest: they were never in the hunt.

Brief score

Sri Lanka 493/7 decl. (Lahiru Thirimanne 140, Dimuth Karunaratne 118; Taskin Ahmed 4-127) and 194/9 decl. (Dimuth Karunaratne 66; Taijul Islam 5-72) beat Bangladesh 251 (Tamim Iqbal 92; Praveen Jayawickrama 6-92) and 227 (Mushfiqur Rahim 40; Praveen Jayawickrama 5-86, Ramesh Mendis 4-103) by 209 runs. Player of the Match: Praveen Jayawickrama.

Sri Lanka won the series 1-0. Player of the Series: Dimuth Karunaratne.

Must See IPL News

Like us on Facebook!

More in Latest News