Australia exclude Warner, Marsh from Sri Lanka T20Is

Authored by
Tue, 25/01/2022
Image Credit

David Warner and Mitchell Marsh were among the notable absentees in Australia's 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, beginning on 11 February at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Coach Justin Langer and some members of support staff will be absent during the series as well. They will be on vacation ahead of their three-match Test series in Pakistan, starting 3 March. In Langer’s absence, Andrew McDonald will serve as head coach. McDonald did the same during Australia’s New Zealand tour for T20Is last February.

Australia recalled Ben McDermott, the BBL Player of the Tournament, along with Travis Head, Moises Henriques and Jhye Richardson. Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc retained their places. Aaron Finch will continue to lead the side.

Mitchell Swepson, who was part of the Australian squad that won the T20 World Cup last year, was left out as well, as have been Daniel Sams, the injured Nathan Ellis and Dan Christian, who were among the reserve players.

Australia Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.