Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test: Preview, prediction, probable XIs

Authored by
Sat, 14/05/2022
Image Source: IANS
Image Credit

Bangladesh will host Sri Lanka for the first Test of the three-match series, at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. 

Bangladesh won their first Test match in New Zealand, in Mount Maunganui five months ago. A lot was expected when they toured South Africa, but their batters crumbled against the spin duo of Simon Harmer and Keshav Maharaj. Fast bowling is another major issue they have not been able to come up with a solution for. In the absence of Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam, the onus will be on Ebadot Hossain and Khaled Ahmed.

Shakib Al Hasan has tested positive for the Coronavirus. Bangladesh are still unsure of his inclusion, though many reports suggest he is fully fit and has completed his self-isolation. Mominul Haque has been going through a rough patch, and will look to turn his form around in familiar conditions.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will be playing their first Test under the new head coach Chris Silverwood. They will miss Suranga Lakmal, who retired from the game after the series defeat in India. With Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara asked to prioritise white-ball cricket, Vishwa Fernando and Kasun Rajitha will lead the pace attack.

Likely XIs:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wk), Yasir Ali, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kusal Mendis, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha

Fantasy Tips

  • Pick Shakib if he plays, along with Embuldeniya.
  • Karunaratne and Tamim are must-haves for your team.

Fantasy XI:

Dimuth Karunaratne, Tamim Iqbal (vc), Lasith Embuldeniya, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain


Sri Lanka to take a 1-0 lead in the series.