Chennai Super Kings Storm into IPL 2023 Final with Commanding Win over Gujarat Titans

Authored by
Wed, 24/05/2023
Chennai Super Kings Storm into IPL 2023 Final with Commanding Win over Gujarat Titans
Image Credit

Ruturaj Gaikwad's brilliant knock of 60 runs off 44 balls, coupled with an exceptional display by the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) bowlers, propelled the team to their 10th final in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. CSK secured a remarkable 15-run victory over the defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) in Qualifier 1 at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium on Tuesday, showcasing their dominance and skill.

Gaikwad, opening the innings, showcased his fluent strokeplay and registered his fourth fifty of the season, even as his partner Devon Conway struggled for rhythm. Despite GT's efforts to regain control during the middle overs, CSK managed to post a competitive total of 172/7 in their allotted 20 overs, with contributions from Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, and Moeen Ali.

In response, GT faced difficulties in building significant partnerships as wickets fell at regular intervals. Although Rashid Khan's spirited cameo of 30 runs provided a glimmer of hope, CSK's bowlers were at their best and dismantled the GT batting lineup, ultimately restricting them to 157 runs in 20 overs.

Chasing a target of 173, GT experienced a shaky start, losing two wickets in the Powerplay. Deepak Chahar struck early by dismissing Wriddhiman Saha, followed by Maheesh Theekshana claiming the vital wicket of skipper Hardik Pandya. Shubman Gill played a couple of lovely shots but GT ended the Powerplay at 41/2.

The spin duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Theekshana applied pressure in the subsequent overs, and Dasun Shanaka's attempt at a reverse sweep resulted in a fine catch by Theekshana. Jadeja continued to make an impact by dismissing David Miller, while Chahar removed Gill for 42 runs. With GT reduced to 88/5 and an asking run rate of over 12 runs per over, the chase became more challenging.

Theekshana's carrom ball deceived Rahul Tewatia, resulting in a clean bowled dismissal, and GT lost their sixth wicket with 71 runs still needed from 30 balls. Rashid Khan and Vijay Shankar displayed some attacking shots, collecting 19 runs in the 17th over to shift the momentum briefly. However, CSK regained control with two successive wickets, with Pathirana dismissing Shankar and Subhranshu Senapati's direct hit removing Darshan Nalkande.

With 35 runs required from 12 balls, Rashid Khan struck a boundary but was soon dismissed by Tushar Deshpande. When 27 runs were needed from the final over, Pathirana conceded a boundary and took a wicket, ultimately bowling out GT for 157 and securing a convincing 15-run victory for CSK.

Earlier, batting first, CSK experienced a steady yet dramatic start as Gaikwad survived an early dismissal due to a no-ball. Gaikwad and Conway showcased some fantastic shots, propelling CSK to 49 runs without any loss at the end of the Powerplay. Gaikwad reached his fifty off 36 balls, contributing significantly to CSK's total of 85 runs at the halfway mark.

Despite GT's efforts to break the partnership, Conway continued to find boundaries, while Ajinkya Rahane played a brief but impactful cameo. However, GT's Shami dismissed Conway, ending his crucial knock at 40 runs. CSK faced a slight dry spell for boundaries until Ray

Brief scores: Chennai Super Kings 172/7 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 60, Devon Conway 40; Mohd Shami 2-28, Mohit Sharma 2-31) beat Gujarat Titans (Shubman Gill 42, Rashid Khan 30; Ravindra Jadeja 2-18, Maheesh Theekshana 2-28) by 15 runs