CPL 2022: Trinbago Knight Riders get past Guyana Amazon Warriors

Authored by
Fri, 16/09/2022
CPL 2022: Trinbago Knight Riders get past Guyana Amazon Warriors
Image Credit

Trinbago Knight Riders defeated Guyana Amazon Warriors by 26 runs to earn their third victory in the Caribbean Premier League. 

Trinbago Knight Riders were given the plate by Guyana Amazon Warriors after winning the toss. After Tion Webster, the Knight Riders' opener, was caught leg before on the opening pitch of the game, the innings was stabilised by Nicholas Pooran (20) and Colin Munro (42). 

While wickets continued to fall at regular intervals after Munro and Andre Russell exited, Tim Seifert (27), Sunil Narine (26) and Kieron Pollard (16) helped the team reach 150 for eight.

Guyana, who was chasing, lost their opener, Paul Stirling, to Daryn Dupavillion in the first over. Despite getting to 81 for three, Guyana was bowled out for 124 in less than 18 overs as wickets continued to fall frequently. To help their team to a strong victory, Andre Russell (3/16), Akeal Hossain (3/36) and Narine (2/9) all bowled quite well.

Brief scores: 

Trinbago Knight Riders: 150/8 in 20 overs (Colin Munro 42, Sunil Narine 26; Tabraiz Shamal 4/36, Romario Shepherd 3/22) beat Guyana Amazon Warriors 124 all out in 17.5 overs (Chandrapaul Hemraj 28, Andre Russell 3/16, Akeal Hossain 3/36, Sunil Narine 2/9) by 26 runs. Man of the match: Sunil Narine