Connect with us


Dhoni not included in BCCI’s list of centrally contracted players

Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has not been included in the BCCI’s list of centrally contracted players for the 2019-20 season. The list of 27 men cricketers who have been given a contract and 22 women players was released by the Board on Thursday. The Ranchi cricketer has not played a single game for Team India since the semis of the ICC World Cup in July. He had held an ‘A’ category in 2018-19. 

His omission might mean that the wicket-kepeer’s days with the Men in Blue are numbered. Recently MSK Prasad, the chief selector, had mentioned that the team had “moved on” from Dhoni. 

BCCI Central Contracts for 2019-20

Grade A+ (INR 7 cr)Grade A (INR 5 cr)Grade B (INR 3 cr)Grade C (INR 1 cr)
Virat KohliR AshwinWriddhiman SahaShreyas Iyer
Rohit SharmaR JadejaUmesh YadavNavdeep Saini
Jasprit BumrahBhuvneshwar KumarYuzvendra ChahalShardul Thakur
Cheteshwar PujaraHardik PandyaWashington Sundar
Ajinkya RahaneMayank AgarwalDeepak Chahar
KL RahulHanuma Vihari
Shikhar DhawanManish Pandey
Mohd. ShamiKedar Jadhav
Ishant Sharma
Kuldeep Yadav
Rishabh Pant

While Dhoni has refused to comment on his future in international colours and had stated that there would be a clarity by January 2020, Ravi Shastri, the head coach, had mentioned that Dhoni could possibly play for India in the World T20 Cup that will be held in Australia from October, if his IPL returns were up to the mark. 

As far as the contract goes, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah are the only three players in the A+ category, and will walk home with a whopping sum of INR 7 crore. 

KL Rahul, who was given a Grade B contract in 2018-19 cycle has been promoted to Grade A while Mohammad Shami retains his Grade A spot and will pocket INR 5 crore. Wriddhiman Saha moved up from Grade C to B and will earn INR 3 crore, while Rishabh Pant retains his Grade A contract despite losing his Test spot to Saha. Mayank Agarwal was awarded his first central contract and has been given a Grade B contract. 

Shreyas Iyer, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar have been handed Grade C contracts, taking home INR 1 crore. 

Dinesh Karthik, Khaleel Ahmed, Ambati Rayudu, however, lost out on their contracts along with Dhoni.

This postgraduate in English Literature from Kolkata has taken on the tough task of limiting the mystic world of cricket to a few hundred words. A firm believer that Kohli is a wizard with the willow, she spends her time awaiting the next Indian spring triumph.

Breaking News Direct to your Inbox!

Privacy Policy


Why sign up to

 Unlock Exclusive Content
 Weekly Cricket Round ups
 Exclusive Player Interviews
 Interactive Digital Cricket Magazines
 LATEST The Podcast

Must See IPL News

The Podcast

Like us on Facebook!

More in News