England confirm 12-man squad for Brisbane Test

Authored by
Tue, 07/12/2021
Image Source: IANS
Image Credit

England announced their 12-member squad for the opening Test in Brisbane. There was no place for Jonny Bairstow, and Jos Buttler will don the wicketkeeping gloves. James Anderson has been rested, but will available for the pink-ball Test match, in Adelaide.

Ollie Pope is back in the squad, and he will be in the playing XI. Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed will open the innings, while Dawid Malan is going to bat at No. 3. 

Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes will be the two all-rounders of the side. If Stokes is fit to bowl, England may opt for Jack Leach. In this case, one of Mark Wood or Ollie Robinson will miss out.

England 12-man squad for Brisbane Test: Joe Root (c), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Haseeb Hameed, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.