IPL 2022, Match 32, DC vs PBKS: Punjab succumb to spin, Delhi take huge NRR leap

Authored by
Wed, 20/04/2022
Image Credit

Delhi Capitals thrashed Punjab Kings by nine wickets at Brabourne Stadium to record their third win of IPL 2022. They are now sixth on the points table. Despite the cloud of uncertainty in their team after Mitchell Marsh and Tim Seifert both tested positive for Covid-19, the Delhi bowlers, led by the spinners – Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Lalit Yadav – delivered a superlative performance. Punjab were bowled out for 115, the lowest total of this year’s IPL.

Rishabh Pant won the toss and decided to bowl first. Delhi made a forced change, bringing in Sarfaraz Khan for Marsh. Punjab, on the other hand, recalled their captain Mayank Agarwal, now fit from a toe injury, for Prabhsimran Singh, and brought in Nathan Ellis for Odean Smith.

Punjab Kings 115 in 20 overs

Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan added 33 for the first wicket, which remained the highest of the innings. Pant read the pitch well, and introduced Lalit as early as in the fourth over. Lalit got instant success, having Dhawan caught down the leg brilliantly by Pant. Agarwal fell in the next over, for a 15-bal 24. All hopes rested on Jonny Bairstow and Liam Livingstone, but they fell in consecutive overs, to Axar and Khaleel Ahmed. Punjab slumped to 54/4 in the seventh over.

Jitesh Sharma and Shahrukh Khan, both uncapped batters, tried to lead a recovery. Jitesh, the more comfortable of the two, hit five fours en route to a 23-ball 32. He then became Axar’s second wicket of the match. Kuldeep continued with his good form, troubling Shahrukh. He eventually got his first wicket, in his fourth over, when Kagiso Rabada missed a googly and was bowled. Kuldeep also got Ellis to finish with 2-24.

Punjab Kings were 90/7 at that stage. They limped to 115. The three spinners and Khaleel all finished with two wickets apiece.

Delhi Capitals 119/1 in 10.3 overs

With a paltry target of 116 in front, Delhi openers Prithvi Shaw and David Warner saw this as an opportunity to boost their net run rate. They started in blazing fashion and continued to play their shots. Both batters played breathtaking shots and struck at above 200. They added 81 in the Powerplay, the record for this IPL.

They kept playing their shots even after the Powerplay. Shaw holed out to Ellis at deep mid wicket off Rahul Chahar, for a 20-ball 41. Warner remained unbeaten on 60, his 53rd IPL half-century, along with Sarfaraz (12*) as Delhi completed their chase in the 11th over.

Brief scores:

Punjab Kings 115 in 20 overs (Jitesh Sharma 32; Axar Patel 2-10) lost to Delhi Capitals 119/1 in 10.3 overs (David Warner 60*; Rahul Chahar 1-21) by 9 wickets with 57 balls to spare. Player of the Match: Kuldeep Yadav.