Memories from the feisty rivalry between India and Australia

Feb 06, 2023

Memories from the feisty rivalry between India and Australia Image

India's first series against Australia was in 1947-48, which was also the first time they played Test cricket since Independence. Though India predictably suffered 0-4 loss, but since that series, a new and most intense rivalry was born.

Here are some of the famous moments from Test matches between the two sides.

'Mankading' came into existence (1947-48): During India's first series in Australia, Vinoo Mankad effected two run-outs in a similar fashion on two different occasions. He first run-out batsman Bill Brown during a match between India and Australia XI. Mankad again ran out the same batsman for backing up during the second Test match in Sydney.

The run-outs were dubbed "Mankading" by the Australian press. Since the incident, the now-controversial method of getting batters run out has become known as Mankading throughout the world.

Vijay Hazare's twin tonnes (1948): In the fourth Test match of the same series, Australia piled up 674. Vijay Hazare then scored 116, but India was unable to avoid the follow-on.

India were 0/2 in the first over when Hazare walked out to bat an hour later and scored 145 (out of 277), becoming the first cricketer to score Test hundreds on consecutive days.

Bob Simpson's triumphant comeback (1977-78): Bob Simpson, who had retired from cricket in 1968, was dragged out of retirement to captain Australia during India's tour of Australia.

After losing the first two Tests, India kept the series alive with comprehensive wins in the third and fourth, but Australia won the decider by 47 runs on the sixth day, led by Simpson's 100 and 51.

First Test victory on Australian soil (1977): After losing the first Test by an innings and four runs, Bedi Singh Bedi led India to their first Test victory in the third match of the series against Bob Simpson's side in Melbourne in 1977.

Skipper Bedi and B.S. Chandrasekhar's spin magic bowled Australia out for 164 in the second innings, allowing India to win by 222 runs and claim their first victory on Australian soil.

Kapil Dev defies pain (1980-81): Australia won by 143 runs in Melbourne, which was expected to be a cakewalk for the hosts because India was missing Kapil Dev (injured thigh) and Shivlal Yadav (fractured toe), while Dilip Doshi bowled with a fractured ankle.

Despite the fact that India reduced Australia to 24/3 by stumps, Australia remained the favourite. Painkilling injections helped Dev recover enough to bowl Australia out for 83 the next morning, and he took 5/28.

Epic Australia tour of India (2001): The 2001 Test series is widely regarded as one of the best ever played in cricket history. The series in which Sourav Ganguly's team ended Australia's record-breaking 16-Test match winning streak.

After losing the series opener, India won the second Test match at Eden Gardens, thanks to Harbhajan Singh's hat-trick and VVS Laxman's gritty innings of 281 and an unbelievable 376-run partnership that included Rahul Dravid.

The infamous 'Monkeygate' scandal from 2008: During India's 2008 tour of Australia, the second Test in Sydney was one of the most contentious in Test cricket history, with former Australian cricketer Andrew Symonds and India's iconic spinner Harbhajan Singh involved in verbal spats that erupted into the infamous 'Monkeygate' controversy.

The former Australian all-rounder accused legendary spinner Harbhajan of making a racist remark towards Symonds, reportedly having called him a 'monkey'.

In the immediate aftermath of the match, match referee Mike Procter ruled that Harbhajan had violated Level 3 of the ICC's Code of Conduct and banned the Indian spinner for three Tests.

David Warner paid tribute to Phil Hughes during day one of Australia's fourth Test against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground - the ground where Hughes died.

Warner kissed the ground when he reached 63 not out, the score Hughes was on when he died, and went on to score a century before being caught by Murali Vijay.

First series win in Australia (2019): Virat Kohli's India became the first Asian team to win a series in Australia, defeating the hosts 2-1. After the fourth and final Test in Sydney was called a draw due to inclement weather, the visitors defeated the hosts 2-1.

Australia's famous stranglehold at Brisbane fortress is broken as Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Shubhman Gill combine to complete one of India's most remarkable Test and series victories. It was India's first Test victory at the Gabba in their seventh visit since 1947-48, and Australia's first defeat at their 'fortress' since 1988.

Set 328 to win on a day-five pitch against one of Australia's best all-round attacks in modern times, India stormed to a three-wicket win with three overs to spare.

After rookie Shubman Gill and veteran Cheteshwar Pujara stifled Australia's attack in the first half of the day, Pant delivered the knockout punches in collaboration with debutant Washington Sundar to seal India's historic win with a boundary to long-off.