Connect with us


Pakistan name shortlisted squad for England Test series

Pakistan have named a 20-man shortlisted squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against England.

Interestingly, Wahab Riaz has been included in the squad, who last played a Test in October 2018.

He will be joined by Mohammad Abass, Naseem Shah, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Khan and Faheem Ashraf in the pace department, apart from the 32-year old uncapped Imran Khan Jr for the Test series.

The nine players who have not been included in the squad will remain with the group and will continue to train ahead of the T20I series which follows the Tests, stated a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) media release. Those nine players are Fakhar Zahman, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain and Musa Khan.

Pakistan are scheduled to play three Tests and as many T20Is against England beginning August 5. The first Test between the two teams will be played in Manchester starting August 5 while the final two Tests are scheduled to be played in Southampton from August 13 and August 21 respectively.

The three T20Is, meanwhile, will be played at a single venue in Manchester on August 28, August 30 and September 1 respectively.

Pakistan squad: Azhar Ali (c), Babar Azam (vc), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Imam ul haq, Imran Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah. are India's largest independent news outlet and now Working in direct partnership with to bring you the future of cricket and to keep you informed of the latest happenings in sport.

Breaking News Direct to your Inbox!

Privacy Policy


Why sign up to

 Unlock Exclusive Content
 Weekly Cricket Round ups
 Exclusive Player Interviews
 Interactive Digital Cricket Magazines
 LATEST The Podcast

Must See IPL News

The Podcast

Like us on Facebook!

More in News