Ranji Trophy semi-finals 2021/22: MP, Mumbai qualify for final

Authored by
Sat, 18/06/2022
Image Credit

Madhya Pradesh 341 (Himanshu Mantri 165; Mukesh Kumar 4-66) and 281 (Aditya Shrivastava 80; Shahbaz Ahmed 5-79, Pradipta Pramanik 4-65) beat Bengal 273 (Shahbaz Ahmed 116, Manoj Tiwary 102; Puneet Datey 3-48) and 96/4 (Abhimanyu Easwaran 78; Kumar Kartikeya 5-67) by 174 runs. Player of the Match: Himanshu Mantri.

Madhya Pradesh took 28.2 overs on Day 5 in Alur to beat Bengal by 174 runs and qualify for the final for the first time since 1998/99. Chasing 350, Bengal began the day on 96/4 after rain, followed by a wet outfield, delayed the start of play. Gaurav Yadav (3-19) had Anustup Majumdar caught behind off the second ball of the day. Bengal's hopes rested on captain Abhimanyu Easwaran, who had been 52 not out overnight. He added 26 to that score before Kumar Kartikeya (5-67) bowled him.

Bengal were bowled out 40 runs later. Akash Deep slammed three sixes in his 11-ball 20, while Shahbaz Ahmed remained unbeaten on 22 (after his 3-86, 116, 5-79 in the match), but there was no real resistance thereafter. Himanshu Mantri was named Player of the Match for his first-innings effort of 165.


Mumbai 393 (Hardik Tamore 115, Yashasvi Jaiswal 100; Karan Sharma 4-46) and 553/4 decl. (Yashasvi Jaiswal 181, Armaan Jaffer 127; Prince Yadav 2-92) drew with Uttar Pradesh 180 (Shivam Mavi 48; Tushar Deshpande 3-34). Mumbai qualified on first-innings lead. Player of the Match: Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Rain delayed start of play in Bengaluru as well. Mumbai, 449/4 overnight (and ahead by 662), did not bother to declare, and opted for batting practice instead. Sarfaraz Khan (59*) and Shams Mulani (51*) batted for 16 overs and added 84 before the captains decided to call the match off. Mumbai qualified based on their first-innings lead of 213 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal was named Player of the Match for his 100 and 181.