Taskin Ahmed ruled out of ODI series opener against India due to recurring back pain

Authored by
Fri, 02/12/2022
Taskin Ahmed ruled out of ODI series opener against India due to recurring back pain
Image Credit

Taskin Ahmed's exclusion from the opening round of the three-match ODI series against India on Sunday has dealt a serious blow to Bangladesh. Ahmed is a fast bowler for Bangladesh.

According to a Cricbuzz report, pacer Shoriful Islam has been selected to replace Taskin in the ODI's quad. Due to his impressive performance in all formats, Taskin, who returned to the Bangladesh team last year, was widely anticipated to lead the home team's pace bowling attack in the series against India. Taskin has taken 22 wickets in 19 ODIs since that time.

"Taskin will not play in the first ODI due to reoccurring back problems. Before making any more decisions regarding his participation, we will wait to see how he progresses "In the report on Thursday, BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin was cited as saying.

In addition to Taskin, Bangladesh's other fitness concerns include regular captain Tamim Iqbal, who suffered a groyne injury during a warm-up game on November 30 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

"The scan report for Tamim is forthcoming. He had groyne pain, so his doctor asked him to get scanned before deciding whether or not he could work "Minhajul was added.

The first two One Day Internationals (ODI) between Bangladesh and India will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur, Dhaka, on December 4 and 7. On December 10, the third One-Day International (ODI), which was originally slated for Dhaka, will now take place at Chattogram's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS).

India is currently ranked fourth in the Men's ODI Team Rankings, while Bangladesh is ranked seventh. All ODI games that are not a part of the ODI World Cup Super League will begin at 12 p.m. local time and last until midnight.

The tour will also feature two Test matches under the ICC World Test Championship calendar, one at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS), Mirpur, Dhaka, from December 22 to 26 and the other at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS), Chattogram, from December 14 to 18.

India will fly for Bangladesh on December 1 and return on December 27 after the tour is finished.