Winners of upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 to take home a cheque of USD 1.6 million

Authored by
Fri, 30/09/2022
Winners of upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 to take home a cheque of USD 1.6 million
Image Credit

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Friday that the champions of the 2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup will get a massive check for USD 1.6 million.

At the conclusion of the 45-match tournament being played over seven sites in Australia from October 16 to November 13, the losing semifinalists will receive USD 400,000 apiece and the runners-up will be guaranteed USD 800,000.

The eight teams who exit at the Super 12 stage will receive USD 70,000 each, with a win in each of the 30 games in that phase worth USD 40,000, following the same format as the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

Aside from the defending champion and host nation Australia, other notable teams include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, 2010 winners England, 2007 champions India, New Zealand, and 2009 winners It has been confirmed that Pakistan and South Africa will begin their competition at the Super 12 level.

The first-round winners receive the same structure, with USD 40,000 awarded to those who win each of the 12 games, totaling USD 480,00. Each of the four teams eliminated in the first round will get USD 40,000.

Namibia, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates, Ireland, Scotland, the two-time champion West Indies, and Zimbabwe are among the teams whose seasons begin in the first round.

The event was originally slated to take place in Australia in 2020, however owing to Covid-19, it was postponed and rescheduled for October 16–November 13 of this year.

Brisbane (The Gabba), Geelong (Kardinia Park Stadium), Hobart (Bellerive Oval), Melbourne (MCG), Perth (Perth Stadium), Adelaide (Adelaide Oval), and Sydney will all host games (SCG).

After hosting a record-breaking ICC Women's T20 World Cup in 2020, which was played in February and March and was won by the hosts, Australia will host the ICC Men's T20 World Cup for the first time.