WPL 2023: Harmanpreet, Sciver-Brunt lift Mumbai Indians to fourth straight win

Authored by
Mon, 13/03/2023
WPL 2023: Harmanpreet, Sciver-Brunt lift Mumbai Indians to fourth straight win
Image Credit

Mumbai Indians Women's team secured their fourth consecutive win by defeating UP Warriorz in the tenth match of the Women's Premier League on Sunday at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur's unbeaten 53 runs helped Mumbai Indians chase down a target of 160 runs with eight wickets in hand. The middle-order duo of Nat Sciver-Brunt and Yastika Bhatia also made notable contributions, scoring 45* and 42 runs, respectively.

Mumbai Indians made a quick start with Bhatia and Hayley Matthews, putting up 51 runs in the first six overs. Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Sophie Ecclestone made breakthroughs, dismissing Bhatia and Matthews, but Harmanpreet's luck, surviving a DRS call, helped Mumbai Indians gain momentum. Harmanpreet and Sciver-Brunt then established a 100-run partnership, with Harmanpreet changing the game's course by smashing three fours and a six in the 16th over.

Earlier, UP Warriorz won the toss and chose to bat first. Saika Ishaque dismissed Devika Vaidya in the second over. Alyssa Healy, UP Warriorz captain, played well and reached her second successive half-century in 36 balls, while Tahila McGrath also scored a fifty in 36 balls. However, UP Warriorz lost Healy and McGrath, followed by Ecclestone's wicket, to finish at 159/6 in their innings.

The Mumbai Indians' win moves them to the top of the table, with four wins from as many games.

Brief Scores: Mumbai Indians 164/2 (Harmanpreet Kaur 53*, Nat Sciver-Brunt 45*; Sophie Ecclestone 1/30) beat UP Warriorz 159/6 (Alyssa Healy 58, Tahila McGrath 50; Saika Ishaque 3/33) by 8 wickets.