WPL 2023: Perry's 3-16, Kanika's 46 help RCB beat Warriorz by 5 wickets

Authored by
Thu, 16/03/2023
WPL 2023: Perry's 3-16, Kanika's 46 help RCB beat Warriorz by 5 wickets
Image Credit

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women secured their first win in the Women's Premier League (WPL) 2023 with a five-wicket victory over UP Warriorz at the Dr DY Patil Academy on Wednesday. The win was largely thanks to the superb bowling by Ellyse Perry, who claimed three crucial wickets for just 16 runs.

After winning the toss and choosing to bowl first, RCB's Sophie Devine caused early damage, dismissing UP's openers Alyssa Healy and Devika Vaidya in quick succession. Perry then took over, getting rid of all-rounder Deepti Sharma and Shweta Sehrawat, in addition to claiming the crucial wicket of Grace Harris, who had made a valuable contribution of 46.

UP struggled to recover and were eventually bowled out for 135 in the 19.3 overs.

In reply, RCB started strong with Devine blasting 14 runs in the opening over but ultimately fell to Harris in the same over. RCB captain Smriti Mandhana was dismissed for a three-ball zero, and Perry was out cheaply for 10. However, Kanika Ahuja (46) and Richa Ghosh (31 not out) took the score to 60 before Heather Knight departed in the 9th over. Ahuja and Ghosh then formed a 60-run partnership for the fifth wicket, guiding RCB to a comfortable victory with 12 deliveries to spare.

The win was a much-needed boost for RCB, who had suffered five losses in the tournament prior to this game. UP Warriorz, on the other hand, suffered their third defeat in five matches.

Despite the loss, Harris was named Player of the Match for her contribution with both bat and ball. However, it was Perry's bowling and Ahuja and Ghosh's partnership that ultimately secured the win for RCB.

Brief scores:

UP Warriors 135 all out in 19.3 overs (Grace Harris 46, Deepti Sharma 22, Kiran Navgire 22; Ellyse Perry 3-16, Sophie Devine 2-22, Sobhana Asha2-27) lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore 136/5 in 18 overs (Kanika Ahuja 46, Richa Ghosh 31, Heather Knight 24; Deepti Sharma 2-26) by 5 wickets.